Angels’ Blood (Guild Hunter #1)

Angels’ Blood (Guild Hunter #1)

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible.

Because this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.

Who knew angels can be hot as hell? In this series they’re even hotter than the vampires. Lol! I really, really love Nalini Singh! She’s a master! For a first novel in a series, this is way too good! I usually have this impression that first novels are the weakest. But I can’t think of this as a weak novel. This is worth 5 stars on my list. Definitely one of my favorite stories of all time.
I loved the characters! I first met Elena in the novella Angel’s Judgment and even then I already loved her. She’s the best vampire hunter the Guild has. And in this novel she’s strong, loyal, energetic, passionate and honorable. She’s exciting and she doesn’t cower in fear, even when she’s really scared deep inside. Definitely my kind of heroine.
I have to admit I didn’t like Raphael at first. But I figured it was his boredom and cynicism talking. And as the story progresses, I can’t help but warm to him eventually.
The other characters are also great. I loved Sara and Ransom. They’re so cool and they made me crack on some scenes. Dmitri and Jason are still enigmatic and Ilium is as charming as ever (they were featured in the novella Angel’s Dance).
The story was dark. And the plot was a bit darker than Ms. Singh’s usual story, but still as enjoyable. I just wished there were more fight scenes for Ellie. She’s the guild’s best hunter and I wanted to read more about her in action.
The romance was great. Great chemistry between Ellie and Raphael. I loved it that Elena doesn’t lose control much even when facing the archangel. I had fun reading about Raphael’s small changes as he get to know Elena.
I love the ending. It was very sweet and romantic. There’s a scene in the last chapter that made me go, ‘awwwww’. That was a very sweet scene I feel like I just wanna kiss Raphael. Lol!

339 pages
Published March 3rd 2009 by Berkley Sensation (first published January 1st 2009)
original title Angels’ Blood
ISBN 0425226921 (ISBN13: 9780425226926)
edition language English
series Guild Hunter #1
characters Elena Deveraux, Raphael (Archangel), Illium, Sara Haziz, Ransom Winterwolf
setting New York City, New York (United States)

For GoodReads Link Click Here

Leave a Reply

